The 2018 town meeting was a quick-hitting, speedy affair in Eden this year.

Just over 80 people, about 10 percent of the town’s registered voters, flew through the agenda, approving every item of town business in just over an hour.

A $940,651 town budget was approved by voice vote, Ricky Morin was re-elected to the select board and voters approved the purchase of a new truck for the North Hyde Park/Eden Fire Department, which if funded by both towns.

Much of Eden’s school business was conducted at a meeting of the merged Lamoille North school district in mid-February, and the school budget was voted on Tuesday by Australian ballot.

Town meeting kicked off by re-electing Bruce Burnor as town moderator and giving Tracey Morin the Bullard Award, presented annually to a community-oriented resident who unselfishly serves Eden. Morin is the assistant town treasurer and the administrative assistant to the select board and other town staff members.

Eden voters repeatedly thanked the three-member select board for bringing in a budget that’s below current spending, and their appreciation showed in how quickly the budget items were approved. The $527,616 highway budget and $410,035 select board budget were approved by voice vote after minimal discussion. The annual $3,000 appropriation for summer maintenance around Lake Eden and South Pond was also approved, along with $21,500 for local organizations and nonprofits and $12,981 for similar county organizations. That total of $975,132 is $6,000 below current spending.

Voters approved borrowing up to $165,000 to pay for half of a new pumper truck for the North Hyde Park/Eden Fire Department. Jon Savage, the fire chief, explained the need for a new truck. The other half of the truck belongs to Hyde Park, where voters also approved a similar amount, so the department should get its new truck later this year.

In local elections, Ricky Morin, re-elected as the road commissioner last year, was unanimously re-elected Tuesday to three years on the select board.

Also re-elected without opposition: Ralph Monticello, lister; Ronald Miller, auditor; Rachel Garfield, first constable; David Whitcomb, grand juror; Tracey Morin, town agent; Monique Morway, agent to convey real estate; Jubal Durivage, cemetery commissioner.

Gary Wright chose not to seek re-election as second constable, and Jim Mack was unanimously elected to replace him.

The only local election that caused a hiccup in the proceedings returned Jeff Hunsberger to the school board of the new merged school district that Eden is part of. Hunsberger was unanimously re-elected via voice vote; it just took everyone a few moments to puzzle out exactly what the LNMUUSD in LNMUUSD School Board stands for. (It’s Lamoille North Modified Unified Union School District).

We use a Facebook Comments Plugin for commenting. No personal harassment, abuse or hate speech is permitted. Comments should be 1000 characters or fewer. We moderate every comment. Please go to our Terms of Use/Privacy Policy "Posting Rules and Interactivity" for more information.