Stowe Rotary honors GMTCC students

Stowe Rotary honored students of the year in the 11 programs offered at Green Mountain Technology and Career Center, and also awarded several scholarships. From left, at rear, are Caren Merson, Stowe Rotary president; Meaghan Parker, school counseling coordinator; Johnny Hill, construction technology; Calvin Smith, sustainable agriculture and food systems; Ethan Lawrence, forestry and land management; Kara Allen, allied health; Benjamin Ring, electrical technology and scholarship; Emma McAllister, business administration and scholarship; Cameron Kennedy, creative media art and design, plus scholarship; Sherry Lussier, tech center director; Abijah Buttendorf, computer networking technology and scholarship; John Wojtaszek, computer networking technology; Ryley Desrocher, heating, ventilation and air conditioning; Chris Damato, tech center assistant director. In front, from left, are Brandan Baker, electrical technology; Jason Warren, HVAC and scholarship; Mallery Daudelin, cooperative education coordinator; Erica Gates, culinary arts and scholarship; Makayla Smith, business administration and scholarship; and Julio Delgado, automotive technology and scholarship.

The Stowe Rotary Club sponsored an annual night of awards and scholarships May 9 for the students at the Green Mountain Technology and Career Center.

One student from each of the 11 programs offered at Green Mountain Tech was nominated by their instructor as “Student of the Year.” Each received a gift, related to their program, from the Stowe Rotary Club in the form of “Tools of the Trade.”

Several other students were awarded Rotary scholarships to further their education.

“Stowe Rotary Club is thrilled to recognize the achievements and hard work of the 2019 GMTCC student recipients of Stowe Rotary Club scholarships and Tools of the Trade awards,” said Jennifer Colin, past president of Stowe Rotary.


Show us you enjoyed this content by becoming a newspaper subscriber.

We use a Facebook Comments Plugin for commenting. No personal harassment, abuse or hate speech is permitted. Comments should be 1000 characters or fewer. We moderate every comment. Please go to our Terms of Use/Privacy Policy "Posting Rules and Interactivity" for more information.