Molly Veysey of Irasburg has been appointed director of the Old Stone House Museum in Brownington.
She succeeds Peggy Day Gibson, who retired after 10 years as museum director.
Veysey is a native of Johnson and a graduate of Lamoille Union High School, St. Michael’s College and Johnson State College. She heads the after-school and summer enrichment programs at the Leach Public Library in Irasburg, a program she founded three years ago.
The Old Stone House is the centerpiece of a historic property that includes three restored houses, two barns and the 1823 Grammar School (whose students from distant towns lived at the Old Stone House, then known as Athenian Hall).
Westmore native Walter Parenteau has also joined the museum staff as bookkeeper and volunteer coordinator. Parenteau recently returned to the area from the West Coast, where he earned bachelor’s and master’s degrees in U.S. history at San Francisco State University.
Parenteau has extensive experience with nonprofit volunteer organizations, and with Whole Food Markets in Boston, New Orleans and San Francisco.