Awards were presented last week to Stowe High School students as the academic year came to a close.

• Commended Student in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program: Fiona Reed.

• Recognized Student in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program: Carolina Rolfe.

• National School Development Council Academic Growth and Student Leadership in Learning Award: Bella Braverman and Kaiya Gants, for their contributions to public education.

• Commission to the U.S. Naval Academy: Keegan Loughran.

• The Stowe High yearbook is dedicated to English teacher Heather Hoffman.

• Humanities Award to Jack Meyer, a senior, for excellence in English and history.

• The Vermont High School Prize Examination in Mathematics “Best in School Award” went to Jack Meyer and Sam Schoepke.

• Fidus Achates Award to Matt Gianni. The award honors unwavering commitment to a club, team or other extracurricular activity, not as its formal leader but as a devoted and hard-working team member who initiates and voluntarily takes up the difficult tasks that benefit the group’s members and its mission.

• Kenny Baker Award: Josh Ziegler. This award is given to an incoming senior, voted by the faculty. The Class of 1966 established the award in memory of Kenneth Baker for a student with outstanding qualities of courtesy, cooperation, and congeniality.

Music awards

Sebastian James and Fiona Reed received the Julie Burt Music Award, selected by the faculty, for seniors interested in and enthusiastic about music who intend to further their education.

Aiden Hamilton and Rosalie Wasser received the National School Choral Award for high proficiency as singers and commitment to their musical achievements.

There were two band awards.

Ian Noyes received the Louis Armstrong Award, recognizes a senior for outstanding musicianship, achievement, dependability, and loyalty in and toward the high school jazz band.

Fiona Reed received the John Philip Sousa Award, recognizes a senior for outstanding musicianship, achievement, dependability, and loyalty in concert band.

Science awards

Hugh North received the Bausch & Lomb Honorary Science Award, for a junior who demonstrates exceptional promise in the sciences.

Jeremy Segal received the Marc von Trapp Award, in memory of Marc’s love for and excellence in the study of science and history. Segal has demonstrated a high level of academic achievement and exhibited enthusiasm for science and history. Segal also received the Science, Mathematics & Technology Scholar Award.

Fiona Reed received the Darwin Award, given to a student exhibiting brilliance, achievement and passion for the life sciences.

Art awards

Advanced studio art awards to Lillian Bertrand for “Best Body of Work/Portfolio,” Grace Dolan for “Best Drawing” and Lola Richards for “Best Concept.”

Studio art awards to Brett Matckie for “Best in Studio Art,” Jordyn Jackson for “Best Drawing” and Andrea Jackman for “Best Use of Color.” Ceramics swards to Faith Walsh for “Best Use of Materials & Technique” and to Winter Gascoyne for “Best Craftsmanship” and “Unique Vision.”

Photography awards to Colton Cunningham for “Best Black & White (Darkroom) Photograph,” Emma Carey for “Best Color Photograph” and Will Riley for “Best Vision Individual Image.” Emma Carey received the Lynn Solow Photography Award, presented in Solow’s memory by the Stowe Reporter to the student who has made the greatest photographic contribution to Stowe High School. The winner is selected by the newspaper’s staff, based on photographs displayed at the student art show at the Helen Day Art Center.

3D Fine Metals Awards: Nathaniel Wells for Best Design, Bjorn Westervelt for Best Technical Skill, Timber Laporte for Best Use of Materials. Sam Clark received the Stafford Fine Metals Award.

Graphic design awards: Bjorn Westervelt, Best Design; Dylan Collins, Best Technical Skill; Isla Saylor, Best Content; John Vaus, John Clark Graphic Design Award.

Advanced Placement Studio Arts Awards: Stella Drews-Sheldon, Best Composition; Emma Schoepke, Best Technical Skill; Josh Vaus, Best Content; Josh Vaus, Best Overall Portfolio.

Congressman Welch’s Choice Award to Will Riley.

Visual Arts Award to Sam Clark and Josh Vaus, for a senior’s interest, enthusiasm and creativity in the arts and who intends to pursue further education.

Excellence in theater awards

Schuyler Barg, Lillian Bertrand, Sam Clark, Colton Cunningham, Carmen DeRienzo, Isa Echarte Drekter, Stella Drews-Sheldon, Sazie Eagan, Matt Gianni, Aidan Hamilton, Sebastian James, Anne Lackey, Sam Mathisen, Jack Meyer, Nadia Noonan, Ian Noyes, Fiona Reed, Cam Tagatac, Willem Trowbridge, Josh Vaus and Rosalie Wasser.

Stowe Women’s Club awards

Carmen DeRienzo, Yvain Hoekstra, Nicole McNabb, and Fiona Reed.

This is a senior award for demonstrated community service, both in Stowe High School and the whole community. These students have volunteered their service to community projects such as service organizations, Scouts and churches. They have generated a sense of community in the school through the activities they initiated and, by their example, bring out positive qualities in people around them.

Booster Club

Love of Learning Awards:

Grade 9: Gus DeRienzo and Makenna Lund.

Grade 10: Bella Braverman and Andrea Jackman.

Grade 11: Kevin Crawford and Paul Velk.

Grade 12: Fiona Reed and Willem Trowbridge.

President’s Award for Educational Excellence

• Gold awards, recognizing academic success (grade-point average of at least 90 and placing in the 85th percentile or higher in math or reading on standardized achievement tests): Allyson Bain, Lillian Bertrand, Valerie Broderick, Carmen DeRienzo, Billy Dixon, Isa Echarte Drekter, Stella Drews-Sheldon, John Driscoll, Eliza Fitch, Winter Gascoyne, Aidan Hamilton, Sebastian James, Celia Liberman, Alexander Nissenbaum, Nico Parada, Fiona Reed, Helen Schafer, Emma Schoepke, Jeremy Segal, Tyler Sherwin, Sarah Stafford, Willem Trowbridge, Josh Vaus, Kristian Viljanen, Rosalie Wasser.

• Silver awards, recognizing outstanding educational growth. It reward students who work hard, give their best effort and demonstrate unusual commitment to learning: Gradey Cashin, Sam Clark, Timber Laporte, Sam Mathisen, Nicole McNabb.

Sports awards

Barbara B. Ware Award to Carmen DeRienzo, for outstanding merit in field hockey.

Wyman Flint Memorial Award to Kristian Viljanen, for the Stowe High hockey player who best exemplifies tenacity in the pursuit of excellence.

Marc von Trapp Spirit Award to Sebastian James for the Stowe High hockey player who best exhibits dedication to his team and love for the game of hockey.

We use a Facebook Comments Plugin for commenting. No personal harassment, abuse or hate speech is permitted. Comments should be 1000 characters or fewer. We moderate every comment. Please go to our Terms of Use/Privacy Policy "Posting Rules and Interactivity" for more information.