Stowe High School held its annual awards assembly on Friday, May 31.

The Class of 2019 was presented by retiring science teacher Don McDowell, who welcomed students, faculty, staff, family and guests of honored students.

McDowell announced that Will Cannon is the class valedictorian and Hugh North is the salutatorian.

Music awards

Josh McDonald received the Julie Burt Music Award, selected by the faculty and on the basis of interest in and enthusiasm for music.

Charlie Ellis received the John Philip Sousa Award as the top senior who demonstrates outstanding musicianship, achievement, dependability, and loyalty in concert band.

Will Cannon and Vanessa Eliasson received the National School Choral Award for a high level of proficiency as a singer and a commitment to musical achievements.

Science awards

Bjorn Westervelt received the Bausch & Lomb Honorary Science Award, given to high school juniors who demonstrate exceptional promise in the sciences.

Will Cannon received the Marc von Trapp Award for academic achievement and enthusiasm in science and history.

Hugh North received the Science, Mathematics and Technology Scholar Award.

Will Cannon received a certificate for winning the annual UVM High School Prize Examination in Mathematics was presented to Will Cannon.

Art awards

Advanced Studio Art Awards went to Abbie Fountain for best body of work/portfolio, Jordyn Jackson for best drawing and Carolina Rolfe for best concept.

Studio Art Awards went to Lucy Genung for best in studio art, Annabel Stevens for best drawing, and Maddy Ziminsky for best use of color.

Ceramics awards went to Jazmine McLane for best use of materials and technique, Bria Lehmann for best craftsmanship and Faith Walsh for unique vision.

Photography awards went to Andrea Jackman for best black-and-white (darkroom) photograph, Ciara Benfield for best color photograph, and Grace Dolan for best “vision”/individual image.

Jacob Shapiro received the Lynn Solow Photography Award, presented annually to that student who has made the greatest photographic contribution to Stowe High School. It is determined by the staff of the Stowe Reporter from photographs displayed at the student art show at the Helen Day Art Center.

Shane McGinnis won the Congressman Welch’s Choice Award this year in the Congressional Arts Competition for his image of a barn in winter. The competition had 350 entries around the state. McGinness was also the 2019 Skills USA Gold medalist in digital cinema for Vermont, competing against 11 other tech schools and colleges.

Fine Metals Awards went to Peyton Keene for best use of materials, Gabe Day for best design, and Ewan Davies for best craftsmanship.

Sage Lively won the Stafford Fine Metals Award.

Graphic design awards went to Charlie Davidow for best design, Jonah Goldstein and Hunter Wenner for best content, and Adam Glanz for best technical skill.

Jimmy Xian won the John Clark Graphic Design Award.

Alexia Goodwin and Brett Matckie won the Visual Arts Award, presented to seniors for interest, enthusiasm and creativity in the arts, and who intend to further their education.

Other Awards

Charlie Ellis and Jordyn Jackson won the Fidus Achates Award for unwavering commitment to a club, team or other extracurricular activity, not as its formal leader but as a devoted and hard-working team member who initiates and voluntarily takes up the difficult tasks that benefit the group’s members and its mission.

Isla Saylor and Challis Vicary received the Hugh O’Brian Youth Leadership Award, the nation’s only leadership award exclusively for sophomores. Each high school across the country selects sophomores to participate in a three- to four-day leadership seminar.

Vanessa Eliasson, Ann Schafer and Ruby Stearns won the Society of Women Engineers Award in recognition of three or more years of excellence in science and math.

Certificates for exemplary work in theater went to Moya Abdel-Mawgood, Will Cannon, Victoria Duff, Charlie Ellis, Alison Friedrich, Zach Fuss, Sara Gosselin, Connor Henzel, Tanis Hoekstra, Allie Infante, Katherine Kerrigan, Connor North, Teagan Reeves and Josh Ziegler.

Kevin Crawford won the Humanities Award for excellence in English and History.

Victoria Duff won the Stowe Women’s Club Award, presented for community service, both at school and in the community.

The Booster Club “Love of Learning” Awards for Academic Excellence were presented in grade nine to Rosalyn Trowbridge and Jimmy Xian, in Grade 10 to Gus DeRienzo and Challis Vicary, in Grade 11 to GianCarlo Biondi and Andrea Jackman, and in Grade 12 to Connor North and Sammis Robertson. These awards are voted by the faculty.

President’s Awards for Educational Excellence — a grade average of at least 90 and achievement in the 85th percentile or higher in math or reading on standardized achievement tests — went to Moya Abdel-Mawgood, Ciara Benfield, Jace Boerger, Will Cannon, Emma Carey, Kevin Crawford, Vanessa Eliasson, Zach Fuss, Tanis Hoekstra, Ryer Leveille, Noah Levine, Jack Morris, Connor North, Hugh North, Alex Pelletier, Sammis Robertson, Carolina Rolfe, Ben Salvas, Ann Schafer, Sam Schoepke, Chesley Smith and Josh Ziegler.

President’s Awards for Educational Achievement, for students who show outstanding educational growth, went to Clark Brown, Victoria Duff, Katherine Kerrigan, Shane McGinnis, Wes Pinkham and Ruby Stearns.

Isabel Masi received the Kenny Baker Award, established by the Class of 1966 for an incoming senior chosen by the faculty on the basis of courtesy, cooperation and congeniality.

Lola Richards was honored for being a Recognized Student in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program.

Athletic awards

Vermont Principals’ Association Educational Excellence through Activities Awards went to Moya Abdel-Mawgood, Ciara Benfield, Jace Boerger, Will Cannon, Emma Carey, Kevin Crawford, Vanessa Eliasson, Zach Fuss, Tanis Hoekstra, Ryer Leveille, Noah Levine, Jack Morris, Connor North, Hugh North, Alex Pelletier, Sammis Robertson, Carolina Rolfe, Ben Salvas, Ann Schafer, Sam Schoepke, Chesley Smith and Josh Ziegler. The award is for seniors with at least a 3.5 GPA and played a varsity sport for at least two years.

Sierra Anderson and Jace Boerger received the Vermont Principals’ Association Award of Excellence, given to one boy and one girl for their exemplary display of sportsmanship, ethics and integrity.

Alyssa Miller received the Barbara B. Ware Award for outstanding merit in field hockey.

Jace Boerger won the Wyman Flint Memorial Award for the Stowe High hockey player who exemplifies tenacity in the pursuit of excellence.

Max Carr won the Marc von Trapp Spirit Award, presented annually to the Stowe High player who best exhibits dedication to his team and love for the game of hockey.

Show us you enjoyed this content by becoming a newspaper subscriber.

We use a Facebook Comments Plugin for commenting. No personal harassment, abuse or hate speech is permitted. Comments should be 1000 characters or fewer. We moderate every comment. Please go to our Terms of Use/Privacy Policy "Posting Rules and Interactivity" for more information.