Governor Phil Scott and the Vermont Arts Council invite the public to submit nominations for the appointment of a new Vermont poet laureate. The deadline for nominations is today, Thursday, April 25.

Chard deNiord of Westminster West is the current appointee. Nominations will be reviewed in the spring and summer with an appointment ceremony anticipated in late 2019.

The poet laureate serves as Vermont’s ambassador for the art of poetry and is called upon to participate in official ceremonies and readings within Vermont and nationally. This is an honorary position, appointed by the governor based on the recommendation of a panel of judges.

Poets laureate are chosen every four years. Robert Frost was originally declared poet laureate in 1961. Governor Madeline Kunin re-established the position in 1988. Poets Sydney Lea, Ruth Stone, Grace Paley, Ellen Bryant Voigt, Louise Glück and Galway Kinnell have also held the post.

The Vermont poet laureate is a person whose primary residence is Vermont, whose poetry manifests a high degree of excellence, who has produced a critically acclaimed body of work, and who has a long association with Vermont.

The nominated poet must agree to participate from time to time in official ceremonies, events and/or readings within Vermont and, as appropriate, to share poetry with a broad audience. The poet selected shall receive an honorarium of $1,000 provided by the Vermont Arts Council.

Nominations must be submitted through the Council’s online nomination form. Provide the name and contact information of the nominated poet, a short statement explaining why the particular poet meets the criteria and should receive the appointment, the name of at least one published work of the nominated poet including the name of the publisher and date published, and the name and address of the person making the nomination.


Show us you enjoyed this content by becoming a newspaper subscriber.

We use a Facebook Comments Plugin for commenting. No personal harassment, abuse or hate speech is permitted. Comments should be 1000 characters or fewer. We moderate every comment. Please go to our Terms of Use/Privacy Policy "Posting Rules and Interactivity" for more information.